Return of the Gold Winners…

ross1
Things I enjoy… meeting Olympic and Commonwealth stars. Things I enjoy more… meeting Gold Medal winners 😀  And a few of them I did meet today!  It was #SUPERSATURDAY in Great Scottish Run weekend, with the kids taking centre stage. How awesome was it to see Edna Kiplagat and Tiki Gelana high fiving one year olds ahead of the toddlers’ race?

For me, I headed out to see some of the elite athletes, but the bonus of the day was meeting Ross Murdoch, who brought his two Commonwealth medals along with him.  Ross was kind enough to sign a couple of items for me including a ChildrenDSCN5372 with Cancer UK vest, on which he has added “Glasgow 2014” as well as signing one of the awesome Commonwealth Games Comp Slips I have.  It’s only been Gold medal winners signing them so far, so it was pretty cool to add 2014 Marathon winner Michael Shelley, who also signed a vest for me.  I asked him to go easy on me tomorrow, though he agrees with me that we both need Haile to back off and give us a chance to win.  shelley1Speaking of The Little Emperor, he has signed loads for me in the past, but managed to vanish into the early morning sunshine after starting one of the kids races, but not before I snaffled this quick pic with him.  There’s no better way to prepare for a half marathon than to meet the Greatest distancehaile1 runner of all time.

All done with the guys, and it was on to two of the greatest female distance runners of our era.  Tiki Gelana is the current Olympic Marathon champion, and she signed a card as well as posing for a pic with me, as did Edna Kiplagat who is the current World Champion over the same distance. Pretty cool.

kip1Tomorrow brings half marathon day for me.  My seventh Great Scottish Run Half in a row, and it looks like it’s going to be a nice day for it.  I can’t wait to get stuck into the route again!

Bring on tomorrow!

PS…

CLICK HERE FOR SPORTS AUCTIONS 

and CLICK HERE FOR LOADS OF OTHER GOODIES

Please check out both pages, there’s loads of ace goodies in there, running in my auctions in support of Children with Cancer UK, for whom I am running tomorrow and in the London Marathon next year 😀

Thanks

About twelveby12

Lunatic Fundraiser, Marathon Limper, Football Fan, Read On For MORE :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

