London Baby!

londonmedal1BOOM! Another London Marathon medal in the bag on a hot and sunny day in the Capital.  An awesome weekend full of celebrity spots, sun, and that glorious feeling of crossing the finish line and collecting the medal.  The sun was blazing come the middle of the race (oh London why do you always do that on a race day?!) and the latter miles were a slog, but delighted to have taken it on again and done it.  There’s a happy me, on the finish line with a bloody nice medal! Huge thanks as always to the awesome support team from Children with Cancer UK for their cheering on the way round and the post race reception for some much needed grub.  Special shout out to Ben and Emily as always for a superb day.  Dang that cottage pie is good 😀

The weekend started with the (notso)Megabus journey south, an overheated cramped run which was among the worst I’ve had in a while, but at least I got there.  The day started at the Beeb, which included Jimmy Carr signing for “Best of the Vest” but it was a generally quiet day there.  Hit the West End, where I got awesome items signed for a range of auctions, including Ardal O’Hanlon, Dervla Kirwan, Imelda Staunton, Angel Coulby and more.  LOADS of Dr Who stuff signed equals very happy Robin.  A couple of amazing highlights made the day… including meeting Robert Vaughn again and finally getting a photo with him after heDSCN4788 signed another Xmas Card for the auction.   I also managed my other main target Arthur Darvill aka Rory Williams of Dr Who fame who signed some darvill1trading cards as well as posing with his contribution to Best of the Vest!  Seriously a really nice guy, happy to sign and pose for everything I asked of him, despite there being loads of fans about.   Also supporting Best of the Vest during theDSCN4794 day was TeamGB Olympic Bronze Medalist Tom Daley, and the greatest ever distance runner Haile Gebrselassie.

At the Expo I also discovered that MarathonFoto who provide the official race photos at loads of events world wide had used images from me in the 2013 event inexpo their promotional display, and they were pretty thrilled when I dropped by.  I was chuffed to pose for this awesome picture, and even more so when the awesome folk that they are gifted me the display for free.

Race day brought with it a start in the Green Zone and rouxbeing up close to the celebrity starters.  It was a bit mad but I managed to meet quite a few of the celebs and get them to sign by own running vest which I wore duringwillerton the race and plan to get framed up with my medal.  I was delighted to meet the likes of Michel Roux Jnr, Olympic Gold Winners Katherine Grainger & Anna Watkins and former Miss GB Amy Willerton.

All in all an absolutely amazing weekend, and despite the aches and pains, I am already looking forward to signing up for next year 😀

I would like to thank each and every person who sponsored me for the event, you’re amazing people.  There’s still time to stick money in the kitty for Children with Cancer UK by texting RBIN99 £3 to 70070 – let’s do this 🙂

About twelveby12

Lunatic Fundraiser, Marathon Limper, Football Fan, Read On For MORE :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

