First Donations of 2012 IN / New Events Added!

Welcome to the biggest post I have made in a while, with some pretty big news included!

Firstly, I have today added £1338 to the funds totals broken down as follows

  • £1108 to Great Ormond Street Hospital Children’s Charity (including the £100 CAF cheque very generously donated by Jane Asher & sponsorship paid into my Just Giving account by Ashley Holmes & Nicola Hunter)
  • £230 to Children with Cancer UK – taking my Berlin Marathon donation total to £2000!

Speaking of the Berlin Marathon, I had previously decided not to take part in any Marathons this year, and limit myself to halfs, but with the internal conscience gnawing away at me and telling me that I could not go through a calendar year without running at least one full distance event, I am heading back to Germany in September to run my second Berlin Marathon!  I will be running once again in the colours of Children with Cancer UK (formerly Children with Leukaemia) and will be aiming to raise another £2000 for them.

At the same time I am delighted to confirm in the same month I will be running my first Great North Run.  Officially the biggest half marathon in the UK, I heard great things about it from my fundraising colleague James Rhodes when he took part last year, and I am very much looking forward to taking part.

The final event I have signed up for today was meant to be tied to a nice big donation to one of my favourite charities, Maggie’s Centres but I think their events team are still on holiday, so will try again tomorrow. Either way, I am signed up for their 2012 Night Hike and will be making a donation as soon as I can to take that totaliser even higher.

All three events (along with the Great Scottish Run) take place in September, so it will once again be a big month for me, and that’s before you consider I will be turning 30 as well!

About twelveby12

Lunatic Fundraiser, Marathon Limper, Football Fan, Read On For MORE :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

