Five Years Ago To The Day…

…I was making my final preparations for my first ever charity event.  The night of the 10th September 2006 would be spent in Heathrow Airport, trying to doss down across chairs while guarding bags.  And meeting Yoda.  Trek Peru provided me with the desire to raise funds for amazing causes, kicked off my belief that a difference could be made with a bit of effort.

I met some awesome folk on that event, many of whom I am still in touch with now (though it’s been a while since the last Perunion – note to self, fix that) and saw some amazing sights.  Where else could you have a “lightsabre” fight on a rail track?  Or have a Coca Leaf inspired tummy upset?  Or eat a Guinea Pig? Or stand at the Sun Gate gazing down on Machu Picchu?

Five years on my desire to raise money for charity is undiminished, and tonight I will take on the Shine Event in Glasgow, for the same charity I trekked in Peru for – Cancer Research UK.  It’s a new challenge, and one I am looking forward to.

Who knows what the future will bring.

PLEASE CHECK OUT MY LIVE AUCTIONS RIGHT NOW, TO SEE WHAT AMAZING SIGNED ITEMS ARE UP FOR GRABS RIGHT NOW.  THANKS.

About twelveby12

Lunatic Fundraiser, Marathon Limper, Football Fan, Read On For MORE :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

